13
Nov
09

Coming Out of the (Gaming) Closet

I was “outed” at a party recently.  Okay, technically, I outed myself.  But I don’t like to lie about what I’m doing or where I was and have found that being honest means there’s less to remember.

I am thirtysomething, and have loved D&D since the days of 2nd Edition when my friend Jefferson introduced me to the game.  His parents didn’t believe in television, so they didn’t own one.  But he had D&D and a tree house and every issue of Heavy Metal since 1984 instead.  Needless to say, I spent as much time at Jefferson’s as I could.

So, flash-forward 25 years to August 2009 and I’m a full-blown geek.  I play D&D.  I run D&D games.  I own dice.  I have all the books.  I refuse to play WoW for the lack of “roleplaying”.  But… I have friends and a social life, too.  Now I’m at a party with some friends in the comedy and film-making scene, and I’ve had a couple glasses of Jameson at this point and I’m realizing that it’s Saturday night — I have to get up early to get ready for “The Game” tomorrow.

What game?” my friend asks.  Oh, man.  I said that out loud.

In these cases, you can do one of two things: lie your ass off or tell the truth.  All of these thoughts came suddenly into my head: What if he laughs at me? What if he calls me a nerd? What if he doesn’t want to be my friend anymore? I should make up a story about a baseball game.  Is it even baseball season?  Is it football season?

I chose to tell the truth.

I’m playing in a D&D game tomorrow. Dungeons and Dragons,” I explain.

He looks at me for a long moment, and then says, “Wow. I’ve always wanted to play that.”

Long story short, I’m going to be running a game for him and 3 of his office buddies.

Now that I’m getting more comfortable with the 4th Edition rules, I’m okay with running multiple games.  I currently run an Eberron game in the Paragon tier (starting with The Escape from Dreadhold!) and may be running 2 others.

I guess the moral of the story is: don’t be afraid or embarrassed of your geek nature.  Embrace it.  You’re not the only one.

Steve

__
Originally Posted: Monday, August 31, 2009, 02:09 PM PST

2 Responses to “Coming Out of the (Gaming) Closet”


  1. November 13, 2009 at 10:00 am

    I’m the only one in my D&D group who is “out of the closet” when it comes to gaming. I’m also the only girl. I wonder if it’s easier for me to talk about my geekiness because I’m a female and people tend to think female geeks are cool. At least, the people I know think female geeks are cool. But it’s funny because when we’re in a social situation, other than the game, and we start talking about D&D, the guys are all hunched over and whispering and I tend to get loud when I’m excited about something. It’s pretty funny.

  2. November 13, 2009 at 4:51 pm

    I’m not sure why it is, but the allure of geek girls is undeniable, and certainly more socially acceptable. Glad you’re using it in your favor.


Leave a Reply

November 2009
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

@4eDnD on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


